5 Questions With Engineer Tech Harnuvys Barrios

HarnuvysWe’re excited to highlight our wonderful employees and their work through our 5 Questions series. The series continues with this profile on Engineer Tech for Quality Assurance Harnuvys Barrios. Harnuvys was promoted in early July from her last position: Quality Control Inspector III in the suture department. Read on to learn more about her new role, what she loves about Arthrex and the advice that helped build her career.

What does a typical day at Arthrex look like for you?

My work day begins at 7 a.m. when I check emails and look over my calendar to determine my top priorities for the day. Our team meets briefly every day to discuss the suture department’s processes, most significant tasks that are pending and any issues that may have come up. Currently, I am working on a new program implementation and my major task is to make sure that it doesn’t delay the regular processes for our department.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

I love that my job challenges me in different ways. There is always something new in Quality Control. Every day is different, which gives me the opportunity to learn more about every step of the process. I feel like learning more of the background information helps us to continuously improve every day.

What has been a highlight during your time at Arthrex?

The thing that stands out most to me is that five years ago I was a Tech I in Packaging. Thanks to the opportunities that we have here, I was able to move up and I’m now an Engineer Tech QA. For that reason, I say all the time that Arthrex is such a great place to work. Not only are the benefits outstanding, but the opportunities that employees are given to grow are so important too. My professional growth has been the biggest highlight by far.

What is the best advice you’ve received throughout your career?

Someone once told me it doesn’t matter what role you have as long as you enjoy it and do your best. That’s what makes you stand out among the crowd.

Before I left Venezuela, my home country, I was a lawyer. I also studied for a specialization in international trade and marketing in a post graduate program. When I moved to the U.S., it felt a lot like starting over professionally. Since I had worked in manufacturing for two years in Venezuela before finishing my law degree, that experience helped me get the packaging position at Arthrex, and I have been given opportunities to move up from there. My husband and I have both worked at Arthrex for about five years now and we are so happy and thankful to be part of this company where we continue to grow and learn.

What do you do in your downtime?

I really love spending time with my family. It doesn’t matter what we’re doing as long as we’re together. My husband and I have a five-year-old boy and an 11-month-old girl who we just adore being around. I also love Asian
cuisine, so every chance I get, I’m looking for another great Asian restaurant!


Want to join the Arthrex team? See all open positions.


Category: Company Culture